Three OU Daily reporters finish in top 10 of APSE’s student contest

Kelli Stacy (from left), George Stoia and Joe Buettner

Three OU Daily students were named among the top 10 college sports reporters in the nation by the Associated Press Sports Editors in contest results announced Tuesday.

Kelli Stacy won first place, George Stoia tied for fourth and Joe Buettner took ninth in the contest judged by five professional sports editors from around the country.

Stacy was sports editor in fall 2017, editor-in-chief in spring 2018 and began work this week as the UConn women’s basketball reporter at the Hartford Courant. Stoia was a football beat reporter in fall 2017, sports editor in spring 2018 and began an internship at the Detroit Free Press last week. Buettner worked with The Daily to produce a multipart series on OU’s history with the Heisman Trophy in fall 2017 and now works for

Missouri was the only other college program with three finishers in the contest. Georgia had two.

Last year, in the APSE’s first student contest, OU Daily reporter Jesse Pound won ninth place.

The contest was open to all APSE student members and members of any APSE university chapters. Entries ran between June 1, 2017, and May 10, 2018. The single contest category evaluated by APSE’s judges was portfolio, which involved a feature story, an enterprise story, a breaking news story, a multimedia item and a wild-card entry.

Stacy’s entry included pieces on Caleb Kelly, the women of OU footballLincoln Riley and Joe Castiglione. Stoia’s included work on David Boren, the Bob Stoops statue, and an OU super fan. Buettner’s entry included several pieces from his series on OU’s Heisman history, which separately won a national SPJ Mark of Excellent award for online sports reporting.
Stacy will be honored with a first-place plaque at APSE’s annual summer conference, which will be  June 17-20 in Nashville.
The full list of winners:
1. Kelli Stacy, Oklahoma
2. Kyle Melnick, Maryland
3. Emily Giambalvo, Georgia
4. Alec Lewis, Missouri
TIE. George Stoia III, Oklahoma
6. Terrin Waack, Alabama
7. Wilson Alexander, Georgia
8. Nick Kelly, Missouri
9. Joe Buettner, Oklahoma
10. Peter Baugh, Missouri