OU Daily’s Crimson Quarterly named magazine Crown finalist for first time

Summer 2020 Crimson Quarterly.

Crimson Quarterly, the magazine produced by the OU Daily, was named a Crown finalist for the first time in its history Monday in results announced by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association.

CQ, which was honored specifically for its summer 2020 issue, was one of nine publications cited in the general print magazine category. The honorees in the category are:

Collegian Times, Los Angeles City College, Los Angeles, CA;
Countenance, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC;
Crimson Quarterly, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK;
Distraction, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL;
Echo, Columbia College Chicago, Chicago, IL;
El Sol, Southwestern College, Chula Vista, CA;
Measure, Marist College, Poughkeepsie, NY;
SCAN, Savannah College of Design – Atlanta, Atlanta, GA;
Windhover, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC.

The Crimson Quarterly issue cited was edited by Beth Wallis and Donna Edwards, who now work for StateImpact Oklahoma and the Associated Press in Bangkok, respectively, and was dedicated to the centennial of the Tulsa Race Massacre. Jordan Miller, who is now at the Salt Lake Tribune, was The Daily’s editor-in-chief supervising all the newsroom’s work at that time.

Crown Finalists are winners whose further distinction as to Gold or Silver crowns will be announced and presented in March 2022. The Crowns function as a “top-down” view of general excellence in the honored publications. CQ is the successor to Sooner yearbook, which won 12 Gold and six Silver crowns before it ceased operations in 2019 following the publication of its 110th edition.

According to the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, the judges were sensitive to the challenges COVID-19 raised to student publications. The judges read the membership profiles and learned of the obstacles and alternative tasks staffs chose to follow to publish their publications.

Crowns for news publications, in which The Daily competes, will be announced Tuesday.