Daily wins third consecutive Sequoyah Award from Oklahoma Press Association

The results for the Oklahoma Press Association’s Better Newspaper Contest were announced this morning and for the third consecutive year, and fourth in the past five, The Daily has been named the state’s leading college newsroom.

Here are the complete results, which are drawn from the 2019 calendar year in which Emma Keith, Scott Kirker and Nick Hazelrigg, respectively, were editors for the spring, summer and fall terms:

Newsroom-wide awards
• Sequoyah Award for best college media outlet: 1st
• Layout/design: 1st
• Advertising: 1st
• Editorial writing: 1st
• Photography: 1st
• Sports coverage: 1st
• Sales promotion: 1st
• Community leadership: 1st
• Digital media: 1st
• In-depth reporting, for coverage of diversity and inclusion at OU: 1st

Individual awards
• News story, 2nd, Jana Allen and Emma Davis
• Feature story, 1st, Blake Douglas
• Feature story, 3rd, Abigail Hall
• Sports story, 3rd, George Stoia
• News photo, 1st, Paxson Haws
• News photo, 2nd, Caitlyn Epes
• Feature photo, 2nd, Jackson Stewart
• Sports photo, 1st, Caitlyn Epes
• Front-page design, 1st, Carly Orewiler
• Small-space ad, 1st, Austin Childers
• Large-space ad, 1st, Austin Childers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *